

## **ESB Newsletter March 2018**

Dear members of the European Society for Biomaterials,

It is my great pleasure to inform you that the Independent Awards Committee of the ESB, consisting of Professor Gino Ambrosio and Professor Liz Tanner has announced the winners of the ESB awards 2018. I would like to thank Professor Ambrosio and Professor Tanner for taking upon them this difficult task, as they had to make a selection from in total 14 excellent nominations. I would also like to thank you, our members, for these nominations, which are a testimony of your involvement with our society and your appreciation of the work of our colleagues.

The winner of the 2018 George Winter Award is Professor Julio San Román (http://www.biomateriales.ictp.csic.es/en/biomaterials-group/). The George Winter award is established to recognize, encourage and stimulate outstanding research contributions to the field of biomaterials.

The winner of the 2018 Jean Leray Award is Professor Amir Zadpoor (http://www.zadpoor.com/home/cv). The Jean Leray award is established to recognize, encourage and stimulate outstanding research contributions to the field of biomaterials by early-career scientists, not older than 40 years of age and with no more than eight years of post-doctoral experience at the close of nomination.

The winner of the 2018 International Award is Professor Andres García (http://garcialab.gatech.edu). The International award is established as a recognition of scientists who have generally spent their career outside Europe, who have been internationally recognized, have a high scientific profile, and have made major contributions to the field of biomaterials.

The winner of the very first Klaas de Groot Award 2018 is Professor Lucy Di Silvio (https://kclpure.kcl.ac.uk/portal/lucy.di\_silvio.html). The Klaas de Groot award established as a prestigious recognition of scientists who have shown a distinct ability to provide excellent mentorship and guidance to young researchers, helping them to establish their own independent career.

Congratulations to all awardees on this great achievement! The four awardees have been invited to deliver a lecture at the next annual meeting of our society that will take place between 9 and 13 September 2018 in Maastricht, the Netherlands.

Please do not forget to register for the conference; the early-bird registration closes on 3 May 2018. For more information visit http://www.esb2018maastricht.org.

Kind regards,

Pamela Habibovic (on behalf of the ESB council)